I’m training for my first marathon: really I am!

It’s been a while now since I decided to run my first full marathon and announced my intention to do so. I was bursting with enthusiasm right after running my tenth half marathon in early June. But before I could get going with my new training plan I pulled the incredibly stupid stunt of accidentally dropping a concrete block on my right foot. Fortunately there doesn’t seem to be any permanent damage, but I did have to seriously curtail the mileage for a few weeks.

I wear a lot of shirts with running-related slogans, as many runners do. I have a couple of shirts with references to “13.1” or “half.” Right after I decided I really want to do this full marathon thing, I bought myself a shirt that says “26.2 miles — ’cause I’m full of crazy.” But I told myself I couldn’t wear it… not yet.

I figured I couldn’t REALLY say I was training for a full marathon until I’d run more than 13.1 miles for the first time. I had to run 14 miles to earn the right to wear my new shirt.

By mid-July I was ready (or so I thought) to break through that huge psychological barrier. But various things kept happening that would cause me to shorten my weekly “long slow distance” run by a mile or two, or three. The day would be too warm, so I’d decide to turn back toward the car earlier than planned.  Or I’d wake up with a headache and decide to go back to sleep for another hour or two, which would leave me short on time to run that many miles before I had to be somewhere else later in the day.

Finally two days ago I vowed that I would go out and run those 14 miles. I wouldn’t care or count how many times I walked or stopped. I was going to cover the distance!

It was a warm day. I planned an out-and-back route that would take me three times through a local park with tall trees, a river, and a drinking fountain with cold water. I took my time. And I did it.

When I hit the “stop” button on my watch I’d traveled 14.12 miles and I could call myself a marathoner in training.

I wore the shirt that same afternoon!

Today brought another new test. In the past, after each of my half marathons, I’ve given myself a week or two to recover before going out to run again. Today, just two days after the longest run of my life, I laced up my shoes and went out to run. I didn’t go far and I didn’t go fast, but I ran. It was a total recovery run but it was a run!

Saturday I’ll do it again… a little harder. Ten miles or so sounds good.

The Victoria marathon is just over 11 weeks away… only 80 days. I have a lot of ground to cover between now and then. But I can do this!

One step at a time.

Posted on July 25, 2013, in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wow! This is really something! Good for you. I really appreciate the way you tackle your goals in smaller bites until the next thing you know, you’ve arrived. This is a wonderful goal. Fantastic, Lori!

    • Debra, thanks.
      I’m still wondering whether I’ve taken on too large of a goal, but I also know from prior experience that I can and will do it. One way or another, one step at a time, I’ll cross that finish line in October. And because it’s my first full marathon, it’s a guaranteed personal record!

  2. O, you go girl! After my aborted marathon training plan last winter, it hurt to even think about trying again, but you know I’m not kidding when I say I’m looking at a half in November.
    Love that shirt slogan….where did you find it? Online (she asks hopefully)?

    • Grammadog, thanks.
      You can click on the shirt slogan and it will take you to the website where I bought the shirt. One More Mile is a great company (even the way they package things for shipment is wonderful). No, I am not affiliated with them in any way….
      🙂

Leave a Reply

