The passing of time and miles

Two years ago today Kurt passed away.

At first I marked the days… then the weeks… then the months. At first my grief took me two steps forward, one step back, one step over the cliff.

I picked myself up again, over and over. Somehow I learned to find ways to make progress, dared to travel on paths and roads that might lead to somewhere new.

The grieving process never really ends, I think, but it does become enfolded within and protected by the new self that emerges with the passing of time and miles.

I have learned that life is finite and precious. Life is lived in moments.

Every new day brings a deeper healing.

I am grateful to be alive, fully present, and joyful on this beautiful June day.

Posted on June 9, 2013, in grief, LIfe_goes_on and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Ah, Lori, you’ve come such a long way and are such an inspiration.

  2. I am so very glad to know you, Lori. And to have been a little fly on the wall to pieces of this process as you shared, particularly in the very beginning months when you really were trying to figure out what comes next. You have come a long way, and it’s easy to forget that you are still grieving. Of course you are. I continue to wish you well as you move into year three. I really admire the way you are moving forward and embracing each day. ox

    • Debra, thanks. If only for my own sake, I’m glad I have this record so I can look back and see how far I have traveled. When I was in the midst of it, it didn’t always feel that way.

      And I’m very glad to have gotten to know and meet you as well.

Leave a Reply

