Firing up the ol’ treadmill

It’s been almost exactly a year since I last used my treadmill. Last year about this time, I was getting ready to go down to Palm Springs for my first winter there without Kurt. The treadmill was convenient, especially as autumn was deepening into an early winter.

Once I’d settled in down south, I ran on city streets and sidewalks all through the winter. The weather was always warm (sometimes a bit too warm) and dry enough for comfortable outdoor running.

When I got home this spring it was still very cold and wet, but as I was no longer working I had the luxury of running in the afternoons when it wasn’t quite so brisk. On an especially nasty day I could even postpone my run until a better day, and still fit in three runs a week.

The condo in Palm Springs is now part of my history. With my new commitment to a four-season Pacific Northwest life, I fully intend to remain active outdoors all through this winter. This morning I woke up planning to go out and run. But it was 38 degrees and looked like it might rain any moment. Furthermore, I had a bunch of errands to run today and couldn’t really justify the time it would take to get in my car and drive five miles to my favorite running place.

My treadmill gently beckoned in the downstairs room that used to be my office but is now my brewery.

I answered.

In some ways it’s easier than running in the real world. Every step is completely predictable — there are no concerns about rocks or potholes. There is no reason to alter one’s stride, no sudden unexpected wrenches to the knees or hips. The very sameness of the movement can be its own hazard (as anyone knows who has carpal tunnel syndrome from repetitive motion). But the main thing about coming back to a treadmill after a year away is that it’s BORING!

What is there to do but stare at the wall? Well, there’s always turning up the music. That helped.

It’s also very warm. I really missed feeling the cold sea breeze on my face.

I managed to stay with it for half an hour or so. I finished feeling strong. I’m glad my treadmill will be there waiting for me when there is snow or ice on the ground. But I have to say that I’m looking forward to going out there to run in the real world again on Sunday — even though the forecast calls for a torrential downpour.

We’ll see how I do with that promise to myself!

One step at a time.

Posted on November 16, 2012, in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Recommend audio books … can take you away … far away …

  2. The treadmill really is boring. But it’s USEFUL. So good for when you just can’t (or won’t) get out. *sighs* I wonder if I will ever own one.

Leave a Reply

