2:15:28 — yet another half marathon personal record

It wasn’t easy, especially during the last four miles when it got warm and the trail was bereft of cheering spectators.

It was a great relief to feel chilly at the starting line! It was 52 degrees and I actually wore a light jacket until just a few minutes before the start. Approximately 900 runners began the 2nd annual Rogue Run from Talent to Central Point in southern Oregon.

I went out feeling great and ran the first several miles just ahead of my planned 10:15 pace. I hit the halfway point (6.55 miles) at about 1:06:30, which would have meant a 2:13 finish. But I started to get tired as the weather began to heat up to the 70s in the later miles. I could have kept pushing, but I managed to remember that this was a TRAINING RUN for Victoria BC two weeks from now. So I walked a bit in mile 11, and a bit more in mile 12, and even a few yards at the beginning of mile 13. Then I picked up, found another gear, and finished strong.

My time of 2:15:28 was a personal record by 42 seconds. I finished 5th out of 29 in my age/gender group, and comfortably in the top half overall. Not bad for a training run!

I’m a bit sore now, but I think that’s mostly because of the sub-optimal motel bed and the hours of traveling today. Overall, I had a great mini-vacation — and I’ve now run competitively in 4 states. Only 46 to go!

My friend did an awesome job of positioning himself in front of me and taking photos. I’ll share some photos after I get them downloaded.

Meanwhile, what I’ve learned from this is that I need to go out slower in Victoria. It should be 10-15 degrees cooler, and it may be raining, but even so I think I’d benefit from not acting quite so invincible at the starting line. If I go out at a 10:20 pace, that will leave me plenty of room to pick up the pace in the last five miles. I do think I can beat 2:15, but I want to do it in a way that still allows me to enjoy some fabulous autumn hikes and stay healthy for the icy winter walking ahead.

One step at a time!

Posted on September 24, 2012, in Running and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Reblogged this on Slow Happy Living and commented:
    Here’s the initial blog post about my (LKS) latest half marathon. I’ll post more details later.

  2. Yay! Way to go! πŸ˜€

  3. Good going!

  4. Great! I do look forward to the photos. You have your own press corps! How cool is that? πŸ™‚ Debra

  5. Fantastic job!! You are an inspriation to me Lori. I’ve only been running a bit less than 2 years, but I totally identify with your running (slow and happy!) and the great progress you have made. I don’t think you can really classify yourself as slow anymore!! I can only hope to be able to run a half marathon someday and in 2:15. Love your blog!!

    • Gtarello,

      Thanks for your compliments on both my running and my blog. I have to agree that 2:15 isn’t so slow anymore. When I finished my first half marathon in 3:10 I didn’t dare dream I’d ever be this not-slow. It really is a one-step-at-a-time progression.

      I read somewhere that no matter what age you are when you start running, you can expect to improve for about ten years and then you’ll plateau or fade. So I figure I’ve got another six years of eking out new PRs. By then I’ll be in an age group with a lot less competition though!

  6. WOOOHOOOO!!!! GO YOU!!!! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

