A year of Slow Happy Runner

Exactly one year ago today I started this blog.

It’s difficult for me to articulate how far I have traveled in that year, but since this is at least nominally a blog about running, perhaps I could begin by expressing it in terms of miles. Thanks to my penchant for spreadsheets, I actually have this information readily at hand.

Since August 28, 2011 I have run 607.78 miles. I ran those miles in Washington, California, Arizona, Oregon, Alaska, and British Columbia. I completed half marathon races in Washington, California, and British Columbia, and I ran a staged marathon in Alaska. I ran barefoot on the beach, and I ran on rocky mountainsides. Given that my per-week mileage is continually increasing, I figure I’ll run another 300 miles before the end of 2012.

Since I started hiking in February 2012 I have hiked 131.59 miles. So far the hiking has all been in Washington and California.

My bicycling career is still in its wobbly infancy, but I have ridden my bike 44.50 miles so far.

All together, my non-motorized miles add up to 783.87. That’s over two miles a day for a year!

Finally, I have driven my car approximately (I can’t be precise here without going out to check my odometer, but I don’t really need to be that precise, do I?) 16,200 miles. I’ve driven in Washington, Oregon, California, Nevada, and Arizona. I drove most of those miles alone (except for my three cats).

That’s a total of approximately 16,985 miles. That’s a long, long way to travel.

Oh yeah, I flew a couple thousand miles and rode a cruise ship approximately 2,105 nautical miles (2,473 land miles) too…

During that same year I sadly “celebrated” what would have been Kurt’s and my 25th anniversary. I got through my first birthday and my first holiday season as a widow. I decided to sell the condo in Palm Springs. I quit my job because it was holding me back from doing the healing and growing that I needed to do. The condo in Palm Springs finally sold. I came home to new friends, new interests, and a new love.

Meanwhile, you came here to read and follow my blog. I’ve written 111 posts (this is number 112) and had 6,175 page views as of this moment. There have been 782 posted comments by my 63 followers and others. WordPress’s very effective spam blocker has correctly identified and blocked 1,215 spam comments! I have used 18% of my allotted free photo storage space from WordPress.

I’m no longer as slow as I was when I named this blog a year ago, but I am very much happier.

“Slow Happy” has become a formula for how I am trying to live my life. One step at a time. One foot in front of the other. Amazing things start to happen when you dare to begin.

John Bingham said it better than I can: “The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.”

Thank you all for running, walking, crying, crawling, hiking, biking, driving, flying, and boating all those miles with me. What a year we’ve had! I can’t wait to see what lies beyond the next bend.

Posted on August 28, 2012, in Biking, grief, Hiking, LIfe_goes_on, Running, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. What an amazing year, so many miles traveled, and so many steps you’ve taken. I’m so proud of you, and of course, happy for you my friend. You have so much courage and it’s been fun to go on the journey with you (sometimes from afar, and a few times nearby — whether up there or down here). Look forward to new adventures you may find, and glad you take us along with you. hugs…

    • Patty,
      I have seen you travel down the road on a few adventures of your own, my friend. Life is all about climbing mountains (grinning at our private joke), going the distance, and taking that next step into the unknown.
      Here’s to us!!
      Lori

  2. Wow! I love that you kept such a good record of your statistics. It’s really amazing to think in terms of actual mileage and then see it side by side with the distance you’ve traveled through grief and rebuilding your life. Congratulations! Truly. That may sound almost like an odd thing to say, but I see it as a triumph. The John Bingham quote is absolutely perfect! Keep those statistics coming…think what another year will look like! 🙂 D

    • I get teased occasionally about my spreadsheet obsession, but when I can report back data like this it usually impresses people (myself included).

      As they say, a journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. Looking back like this, I know I’ve taken a lot of steps both big and small, but the cool thing is that I’m so excited and optimistic about the steps still to come.

      The best is yet to come! And you can bet I’ll blog about them too.

  3. What a year. You’ve run a long, long way in that last 365 days of life. Well done!

  4. You’re inspiring for all of us who doubt our capacity to make it through all you have.

    • Colleen,
      For me, that’s the value in looking back. I inspire myself when I see how far I’ve come. It helps me to believe that whatever may come in the future, I’ll handle that also.
      And yes, you can do it too. We all can.
      One step at a time.

Leave a Reply

