Slow happy post-corporate person

My adjustment to post-corporate life continues, and will be a work in process for some time as I find my way to a new rhythm. Running in the early morning is now completely impossible (What? Set the alarm? Never!). I am experimenting with new venues for a late-afternoon run, but as spring approaches it will become too warm for a long run at any time of day. Last Wednesday I ran 4 miles beginning about 5:30 PM. While the temperature was fine, before the end of the run I was wishing I had worn my reflective vest.

This morning with the change to Daylight Saving Time I thought I’d try a morning run, but it was already 66 degrees when I started out at the crack of 10:30, and well over 70 by the time I completed a 5.63 mile loop through downtown and back. It was a good run, though — I planned it so it was downhill or level all the way back, and I backed off my recent pace by a full minute per mile. Slow and happy works for me.

I figure I’ll get serious about running again when I get home to Washington. My next planned race isn’t until early June, so as long as I stay active over the next few weeks I should still have plenty of time to increase my mileage on cool trails with soft running surfaces in April and May.

I’ve definitely been staying active. I have either run, hiked, or taken long city walks for 14 out of the 16 days since I left corporate life. A few days ago I hiked two miles up the Araby Trail and back. This is a well-traveled, moderately steep but well-marked and maintained trail that winds up to and beyond the Bob Hope house (designed by John Lautner). Most visitors to the area merely glimpse the house from their cars, as a large turtle-shaped structure high up on the hillside south of downtown. I took this photo shortly after passing the house, but I ended up a good 500 feet above it, and 1,000 feet higher than where I’d started.

Yesterday I returned to the Thousand Palms Oasis area and hiked in the other direction, high up on a ridge that was probably an earthquake scarp. This was a more remote location but I carried plenty of water, kept other hikers in sight, and felt comfortable out there. The view was great; I could see several oases tucked into various canyons, and also had a good long view across the valley. I forgot to take any photos, however. Afterwards I celebrated that hike with another date shake. I’m still amazed that it has taken me this long to find out what I’ve been missing! I have now even dared to eat fresh whole dates, although one at a time is plenty. They are not the most visually appealing fruit, but they do taste good.

I have done a price reduction on my condo. It is getting showings and I hear favorable feedback, but I have not yet had any serious nibbles. I am fully aware that this is a terrible time to sell real estate and I’m yet not desperate to sell it, so I am not losing any sleep over it. It will sell in time. I have lots of time.

Posted on March 11, 2012, in Architecture, LIfe_goes_on, Place, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Bruce Herrington

    Temperature is a matter for conditioning, just as is distance.

    When working at Twentynine Palms, NOON was the most convenient (and congenial) time to run. After a couple of years I was quite comfortable running a 10 minute pace in 100plus temperatures, though I probably could not have done so in humidity over 20%.

    • Bruce,

      I’ve seen lots runners out in the heat here. But given that I’m going home to Washington very soon, I really don’t need to bother with conditioning for warm temperatures. I’m looking forward to layering up soon!

      Lori

  2. Hiking! How fun! Do you have places to hike in Washington too? (Excuse my ignorance. I have no idea.)
    Have you ever heard about the Color Run? It’s not timed at all, and is all about fun, and getting your white t-shirt full of color by the end. Check it out and see if there is one in your area. I’m planning to go to the one in Orlando (December), and if I manage to save pennies, the one in New York in August.

    • Alicia,

      I live near Olympic National Park, which has mountains, rain forests, and wild beaches. I have many wonderful places to hike, and I’m looking forward to making new friends with whom I can hike back into the wilderness!

      I have not heard of the Color Run but now I know there is one in Seattle on May 13. Maybe I’ll do it — it does sound like fun — thanks!

      Lori

  3. I love the getting on the go at the “crack of 10:30”–that’s fabulous! It sounds like a wonderful jump into post-corporate life. I can only imagine how different that must feel…just not being run by a clock! That alone is heaven! So keep up the good photo-shoots while you’re still here. I’m taking notes! Debra

    • Debra,

      I’ll try to remember to keep my camera handy — both while I’m still here and after I get back home. I’m sort of enjoying this travel writer thing. Thinking about how I’ll write about my experiences is adding a dimension to everything I do.

      Lori

Leave a Reply

