Learning, Harmony, Wholeness

It’s been an eventful 24 hours in my life, the details of which I’m not yet ready to share. Yesterday’s post was an initial attempt to figure out what things might be worth investing my time in doing, during the so-called “second half” of my life. Wouldn’t it be great to have another 56 years in this beautiful world? Well, I’ve learned to appreciate the power of “big hairy audacious goals” (BHAGs), so why not dream such dreams?

One of the comments on my last post (thanks, Patty) led me to revisit my personal purpose statement. My earliest attempt to put this down in writing (or at least, the earliest version that I still have on my current computer) dates to the year 2000. The last time I revised this statement was 2005 — but in re-reading it just now, I’m not sure I would change a word. All I need to do now is simply to move toward fully living it.

Three core values lie at the core of my personal purpose statement. All the rest of it is just details.

In my professional role as a leadership educator and coach, I have often led others through a values clarification exercise in which people sorted and prioritized a list of potential values including things like “achievement,” “spirituality,” and “wealth” — the whole gamut of a hundred or so things that my work colleague and I could imagine that someone might hold dear — and winnow the list down to just three. The key feature of this exercise is that the person has to not only choose three core values, but also must define exactly what they mean to him or her. The next step, then, would be to write a life goal statement or high-level “mission” incorporating those core values.

Every time I have tried to do this exercise for myself, I identify the same three values, so I think I have the right ones, the values that truly resonate with me and help me to stay true to myself in whatever circumstances and decision points I may face.

So… here they are:

Learning:    continuous, lifelong growth of knowledge, awareness, wisdom, and creative action

Harmony:    living at peace, in beauty, in balance, and at home in the world and in myself, in action and in stillness

Wholeness: absolute commitment to a whole life truthfully lived in creative relationships with an interconnected world.

 That’s it; that’s me; that’s what I’m here to do. The really cool thing is, everything I wrote yesterday aligns perfectly with these core values. In the process of doing whatever I might do in the future, I hope to make the world a better place in whatever small ways I may be able to make a difference. As I continue on whatever paths I may decide to follow, I’m going to keep doing, showing, living, and being those values.

It’s a great feeling to come home to and re-embrace one’s deepest values. Everything is going to be all right.

Oh yeah, all that and another PR at the Palm Springs half marathon in just a few weeks from now.  🙂

Posted on January 19, 2012, in Learning, LIfe_goes_on, Philosophy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I also feel aligned to the values you’ve articulated so well! One of the things I realize with getting older is that I don’t want to use valuable time in any effort that is not congruent with those values. I can hear you shifting your perspectives, and it’s wonderful. You have a long list of interests to pursue. I’m glad you’re getting started. It is a looooong list! 🙂 Debra

  2. Writing my life mission was one of the most clarifying things for me. Doesn’t it feel great? What I find is that anything I contemplate is mentally and emotionally bounced off of this intention…when I am centered, that is.

    • Thanks for finding my blog! I agree, just thinking/writing such a statement is a powerful exercise — even though it is still tough to consistently live it. I’m going to be more intentional about doing so in the future.
      Lori

  3. This is great. We often try to convince ourselves that we’ve got it all filed away in our brains, but it’s so much better to put it down somewhere. In a journal, on a post-it, on the fridge, on a blog, on a harddrive… To be able to refer to something physical. I’m going to work on mine this weekend.

  4. Lici recommended you. I like your purpose!

  1. Pingback: Things of the Day (and Week) « conchsaladesque

Leave a Reply

