Dueling passions

My perfectly rational, mathematically balanced half marathon training plan said that I was supposed to run 7 miles on Sunday morning (yesterday). But I’m enjoying becoming reacquainted with the architectural wonders of this city. I found myself drawn to Google Maps on Saturday evening, plotting out a course that would take me past another world-class home less than a mile from my condo and just around the corner from that other house that fascinates me so much. I vaguely recalled that it was further up the hill, but I decided to turn in that direction and see what happened and how my running feet/knees/hips might feel about that.

I wound up running past both architectural wonders multiple times and making a few other loops around the area. It was way too much hill work and I already knew I’d overdone it between miles 4 and 5. My knees were not happy at all, and my hips and the soles of my feet were beginning to complain as well. So I slowed down and headed back to the flatter streets around my condo. I ended up running 6.55 miles (half of a half marathon, for the mathematically obsessed — you know who you are). When I finished I went directly to the unheated pool and plunged my legs into 48 degree water for as long as I could stand it, which I estimate was approximately 55 seconds. Then I did my usual stretching, and spent most of the rest of the day with my feet up.

I was sore this morning, but not nearly as bad as I’d feared. I think I’ll be ready to go out again for 4 miles on Wednesday morning, but I’ll stick to the flat streets. And I’ll try not to yield to temptation when I plan my next Sunday long run (8 miles per my perfectly rational, mathematically balanced half marathon training plan). There are other interesting homes to see in the flat area right around the park where the race will start and end, so perhaps I will head that way on Sunday.

I’m still alone but less lonely than I was. It’s amazing what a huge difference not having a headache makes in my overall attitude toward life. Tomorrow afternoon I have a major excursion planned (to the post office to mail bills), so while I’m out I’ll probably take myself out to dinner.

One step at a time. But I do have to learn to moderate the urge to charge up those hills, no matter how lovely I may imagine the view from the top to be.

Posted on December 12, 2011, in Architecture, LIfe_goes_on, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Runs shouldn’t always be so “mathematical” 😉

    Happy trails,
    Nel

    • Nel,
      I agree, sometimes it’s fine to just go wherever your feet take you and enjoy the ride.
      I’ve never followed a running plan to the letter, but I have learned that if I don’t at least have a plan, and then put run dates on the calendar, I end up running much less than I want to. So it’s a guide that allows for preemption by injuries, headaches, wrong turns, and rush periods at work. So far that’s worked well enough for me. Still, I do enjoy the process of creating all those pretty plans!
      Lori

  2. Dinner date! YAY!
    I can imagine how tempting it is to plan your route in such a way that you run by amazing houses. Maybe you should make a deal with yourself to DRIVE by them one evening to see Christmas lights. 🙂

    • They can be hard enough to find and then see during the day (many are tucked behind gates so I only get glimpses). But I do need to get out more, and taking the long way to/from my solo dinner “date” is actually a good idea. Thanks!
      Lori

  3. My work schedule used to give me a little more flexibility with my day and I was in better shape because of the marathon walks I’d take. The motivation was the neighborhoods I chose to walk in. I love to garden, and I’d walk for up to two hours just luxuriating in the beauty of the homes and their exteriors and fabulous landscaping! I’d forgotten how much I loved that! I think it must be very tempting to run in the neighborhoods as you describe them, but if the end result is dipping in an unheated pool in December, I’m not sure I could do that 🙂 Resisting the urge to charge up the hills? What a metaphor! Debra

    • I was advised by a physical therapist up north, before my race there last June, to wade into the always-cold Pacific Northwest water as soon as possible after crossing the finish line. I thought that was lunacy, but I noticed quite a few people doing it.
      So when I came back the other day and observed that the water temperature was 48, I figured why not give it a try? There may be something to it, because I was truly concerned at the time that I’d injured myself, but I actually ended up with NO swelling!
      I’m glad you appreciated my metaphor; it was intentional.
      Thanks,
      Lori

  4. Ah-ha, “charge up those hills” was a metaphor, I thought so. The views can be lovely indeed and the journey to get there is what gives honor to the effort, even if I am reminded by friends of my own effort. Sometimes the burden has become so much a part of me, I don’t feel it’s lightened unless another brings it to my attention. I then think, “Oh my, that’s why I sense this shift.”

    I’m with Debra on plunging any part of my body into a cold pool–55 seconds or not! Heck, I’d probably not get the clothing off my body in the first place! I’m good with a walk and viewing landscapes and architecture excites my soul. Admittedly, I envy you the daylight hours to do your viewing.

    Here’s to you, Lori, the dedicated runner.

    • Ellen,
      An effective metaphor sheds light on both concrete and abstract truth. I do need to keep learning to resist the temptation to charge up hills of both kinds. As I hope to keep running for many more years, I’ll need to be “slow” enough that I can continue to be “happy” while doing it.
      Thanks,
      Lori

Leave a Reply

