Unofficial 10k personal record

It was unofficial because it wasn’t a race but just me out there running through the neighborhood on a quiet Sunday morning. But I ran exactly 6.2 miles and finally broke the 1:10 barrier… rather decisively actually. Yes I’m still slow, but I’m continuing to get faster.
I’m still focusing primarily on maintaining a steady pace. I tune into the sound and feel of my feet hitting the pavement. If the footfalls start to sound/feel harsh, that tells me I’m pushing too hard and getting tired. If I start to hear/feel an uneven beat, that means I’m favoring my left leg and courting injury. I’m not hearing/feeling either of those things right now. So the thing to do next is to start gradually increasing my mileage again, adding about a mile a week to my Sunday morning long runs while still maintaining that steady pace. That’s my plan for arriving safely at the start and finish lines of my next half marathon in February.
These simple, concrete goals are so important because they keep me continually focused on two things: having a reason to be excited about getting out of bed on running mornings, and living in that delicious present when everything is simply going as I plan and desire.

Posted on December 4, 2011, in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Look at you, go! YAY!
    I’m hoping to be able to be in tune that way soon. I guess I’d have to start running again first. And without music. Both seem too difficult for me at this point in time.

    • I do run with music, but I keep it low enough to still hear/feel my feet (and whatever else is going on around me).
      You have plenty going on right now, and you will run again when you are ready. I’m sending good thoughts your way.
      Lori

  2. Good for you! Official or unofficial, a personal record of any kind is a reason to celebrate! I hope you do something to celebrate your victories. It seems to me that you work hard and have experienced enough “moving through barriers” that maybe you need a good reward system…something beyond the intrinsic value and obvious benefits of meeting such wonderful personal goals. But maybe at least a little chart with gold stars? 🙂 Debra

    • Debra,
      You are probably right, I don’t always do a very good job of rewarding myself. I always seem to be on the way to the next somewhere, wherever that may be. I have spreadsheets to track things but there do not seem to be any gold stars on them.
      I will think about what that means and how I might change it. Thank you.
      Lori

Leave a Reply

