Beer runs and art

I approached my second beer run tonight determined not to try to keep up but just have fun running at a comfortable pace and then enjoy my post-beer run. We had a good crowd and I managed not to get left behind right at the start. It was COLD but at least it was calm and not raining.

I set myself a very modest goal of 4 miles at an 11:15 pace with no walk breaks. With no obsessive watch-monitoring, I ran 4.01 miles at an 11:15 pace. That’s almost scary — like maybe I’m starting to get a feel for this?

Afterwards I thoroughly enjoyed my beer and pizza, and then went just down the street to meet up with some friends who hang out and do art together on Thursday nights. We’re all here at a local gallery called Studio Bob. Others are sketching and painting; I’m blogging. But if I should dare to try this again next week, I think I’ll bring my iPad and create a masterpiece with Art Studio.

This is all silly stuff, and just about exactly what I need right now. Thanks for hanging in with me through the rough spots (past and future). Right now, in THIS moment, I am OK.

Posted on November 3, 2011, in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Bruce Herrington

    ‘it’s not the destination, it’s the journey.’

    Sounds like you are having a better and better trip.

  2. Well, I’m going to enjoy cheering you on. It sounds fun! I enjoyed my yoga class tonight, and so I guess I find my “in the moment” moment differently, but isn’t it wonderful that we find it somehow! If you take your iPad and create a masterpiece, you MUST share. That’s part of the fun, too! Debra

  3. sounds like a great thing for a thursday night!

  4. That seems like a great way to spend a Thursday evening! Glad you had a good time, and plan to have some more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

