Stepping carefully on shifting ground

I can’t yet say how or why (and I fully expect more setbacks, explosions, abyss-falls, and the like), but something is… shifting. The last few days have not felt so bleak. It’s becoming easier to imagine my life as “Lori, becoming Lori.”

I’m starting to figure out that I really do need other people, want to be around other people, find that being around other people is energizing and kind of fun. I’m really not going to be a hermit locked away with my cats for the rest of my life.

I’m going to be OK.

I can’t say any more because I don’t want to start over-thinking this and freak myself out and mess everything up.

But I think I’m going to be OK.

Posted on October 29, 2011, in grief, Learning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. You ARE going to be ok- even better than OK!

  2. Making lemonade is not usually something we chose to do, and we usually don’t do it willingly. And while this kind of change necessitates lemonade, and it may take a while- you may find that the lemonade is pretty good, even if it wasn’t your drink of choice….. you will come out on the other side intact!

    • It probably helps that lemons are one of my favorite fruits! I think what I’m in the process of learning is that I will have good days and bad days, but the bad days will be less frequent and yes, I will come through this OK. Thank you!

  3. it is one thing to know you are going to be OK, and another to deeply “know” you are going to be OK, as Lori. So glad that your journey to “knowing” is just as it should be! Hugs, Geri

  4. Knew it all along … Good and bad days are expected, but wonderful to see this stage for you. Wish you were here and we could go to Ruta’s to celebrate, so I could be a part of the in-person people side!

Leave a Reply

