Not quite so ridiculously slow, but very happy

I am too tired to write much tonight, but do want to tell you that I ran the Victoria half marathon this morning and smashed my personal record (PR) by 15 minutes. I am still slow, but not quite so slow — and I am a very happy runner.

Everything simply worked. The weather was perfect: partly cloudy, calm, and around 50 degrees at the 7:30 AM start, and sunny, calm, and somewhere in the high 50s when I finished. The course was about as flat as a 13.1 mile road course can be, with just a few slight uphills and downhills that I got to experience on both parts of the basically out-and-back course. I was feeling so good and running so easily at 4 miles (which is the furthest I’ve ever gone before a walk break) that I decided to just keep going and see what would happen. At 10 miles I was still running, and I was about 20 seconds per mile faster than my planned pace to that point. I finally dropped to a walk there, which was right at one of those slight uphills. I walked about a quarter mile up the hill and then resumed running, finishing that mile still right on my planned per-mile pace. I took a shorter walk break at 11.75 miles, and then ran to the finish. The 13th mile was my fastest, and that last 0.1 (actually 0.25 by my watch) was even faster.

I had expected to run about 2:50, hoped for 2:45, and actually ran 2:40. Yes, still slow — but 15 minutes faster than last time!!

There are other cool things I’d like to tell you about, like how awesome it was to share the course with elite Kenyan marathoners. And what an honor it was to be greeted with smiles and hugs by running legends Kathrine Switzer and Bart Yasso at the finish line. But I’m really tired, so that’s it for now. I’ll try to post again, and maybe even share a photo or two, within the next couple of days.

Posted on October 9, 2011, in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Way to go! Geri

  2. Oh, I’m so glad it went well!! I thought of you today and wished you well on your journey! Yay for you, I wish I could have been at the end to hug you!!!

  3. ellen dearinger

    Lori…..I am so proud of you…….Great job….and right now I am blowing you a hug….[Yes I can blow you a hug if I want to ]….I’m sitting here feeling tierd after doing nothing and here you are out there running your heart out….Good for you D
    r Lori….Love Ellen

  4. Lori, you are not slow, you are amazing.

  5. Hey Lady!

    Just dropping by to let you know I am nominating you for the Very Inspiring Blogger and Sunshine Awards!!! Hope you’re having a great day!!!

  6. I am so honored by your recognition! I certainly feel the same way about your blog. I’m not sure how I’m going to pass on (and hence fully earn) the award because I haven’t yet found 15 favorites, but I’ll try. Thanks again!
    Lori

  1. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award « The Running Thriver

  2. Pingback: From Humble Beginnings… « The Running Thriver

Leave a Reply

