What it means to be a “slow happy runner”

It means taking one step at a time, putting one foot in front of the other. It means trusting that there is still solid ground under my feet, that the next step will not lead into total darkness or off a cliff.

It means I have to take each step all by myself, but that friends are there to cheer me along the way.

It means learning to enjoy the journey for itself, because on some days there is no one but myself to cheer me along the way.

It means learning to be in the moment, every moment, even the ones when it really hurts to be here now.

It means that there is no such thing as mediocre, because every step is an affirmation that I can and will do great things… one small step at a time.

It means finding the courage to start, the strength to endure, and the resolve to finish.

It means that every day can be a “personal best,” simply in the fact of getting to the finish line. It also means that on some days, just getting out of bed is “getting to the finish line,” while on other days… anything is possible… and both of those extremes are fine.

I’v borrowed liberally from some of my favorite running quotes here, because one of the things I’m learning is that running is a metaphor for life… so even when I’m writing about running, it’s not always only about that.

I’m slow and happy, and so glad that you are here with me.

Posted on August 28, 2011, in Philosophy, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

